Verdens sentrum ligger på venstresida

Røde kreasjoner og andre ting som kommer ut av verdens sentrum

åja… skole!

Posted by Sigurd den august 29, 2007

Min personlige dag i emne-shopping er offisiellt over. Jeg har vært i forskjellige klasser hele dagen, og endt opp på hva jeg skal studere:

Comparative Perspectives on U.S. and European Societies — Sociology (SOCIOL) 122 [4 units]
Course Format: Three hours of lecture per week.
Prerequisites: 1, 3, 3AC, or consent of instructor.
Credit option: Students will receive no credit for 122 after taking 180 in Spring 2005.
Description: This class explores differences between modern societies through systematic comparisons of the U.S. to European countries in several domains. It starts with discussing the broader social organizations of the societies in terms of political economy, political systems, and welfare systems. It continues with analyses of central social changes, social problems, and institutions in the societies, including the topics of gender inequality, immigration, rising inequality, religion, individualism, educational institutions, and health systems.
(F,SP)

Sociology of Poverty — Sociology (SOCIOL) 124 [4 units]
Course Format: Three hours of lecture per week.
Prerequisites: Introductory sociology or consent of instructor.
Credit option: Deficiency in 124AC cannot be removed by completing 124. No credit for 124 after 124AC.
Description: This course will explore the sociology of poverty. It will examine a number of theories on the causes of poverty, then turn to an examination of empirical studies concerning the trends and determinants of poverty, followed by an examination of the everyday life of those who live in the condition of poverty. This course will conclude with a look at social policy toward poverty. The course will focus primarily, although not exclusively, on poverty in the U.S. While there will be some readings concerning rural poverty, the course will have a decidedly urban focus.
(F,SP) Sanchez-Jankowski

History of China: Origins to the Mongol Conquest — History (HISTORY) 6A [4 units]
Course Format:
Formerly 13A
Description: The history of China from its beginnings to the destruction of the Song Dynasty by the Mongols in the 13th century. Topics to be covered include the emergence of Chinese civilization, the Chinese language, early rhetoric and philosophy, the creation of the first empire, law, Buddhism and religious Taoism, the socioeconomic revolution of the 10th to 12th centuries, identities (male and female, Chinese and «barbarian»), lyric poetry, and painting and calligraphy. Comparisons between China and Europe will be made at strategic points.
(F,SP)

I tillegg må jeg skrive en 3000 ords-oppgave i et nesten valgfritt tema…
Problemet nå er at pengene mine ikke har nådd frem fra Postbanken til Bank of America, så jeg har bare den første boka i hvert fag å lese på… Dvs. Jeg kan selvfølgelig ta ut penger fra postbanken-visa-kortet mitt, de pengene jeg lot bli igjen i Norge, men jeg tør nesten ikke tenke på gebyrene…

Det blir vannvittig mye mer studie enn i Tromsø, men andre klarer det, da bør jeg også klare det. 8 bøker i det ene faget, 2st 10-siders-oppgaver og to eksamener i det andre, og i det tredje må man levere inn «tanker om literaturen vi har lest»… hver uke.
Jeg har allikevel lagt merke til verre krav enn i mine fag. I Development and Globalization, må man lese the Economist og New York Times hver dag, i et fag Ørjan (Bergan) var innom, måtte man ut i et prosjekt i Oakland som minnet mest om en «internship» i tillegg til alt annet, og så videre…

Ellers så ser egentlig timeplanen min litt rar ut. Jeg har kun undervisning på tirsdag, onsdag og torsdag, og onsdager begynner jeg ikke før 3… Noen vil kanskje se på dette som 4 dager helg. Jeg tror jeg hadde gjort det hadde dette vært UiT, men i dette semesteret blir dette knallharde studiedager.

Golfinga var helt grei. I dag skal fraternityen se en baseball-kamp, men jeg skal hive meg i lesingen i stedet. Så… «utviklingen av det kinesiske «modul»-skriftspråket, og hvordan det har påvirket det kinesiske samfunnet»…

Legg igjen en kommentar

 
